[new][old][me][rings][review][contact][dland][twitter][facebook]

Saturday, Jun. 10, 2006 | 5:51 P.M.

The Last Entries: Part 2

I think either the end of my 1st grade year or the first part of my 2nd grade year, we had to take a test to see what level we were, reading wise I think. When they said this, I began freaking out. I hadn't studied for this test, I didn't know the material that was going to be on it. So after I took the test, they said I needed to be in remedial english. So, once or twice a week for a month, I went to remedial english class which had computers! and computer games for me to play with so I could learn better, I suppose. After my first month, my mom got a letter stating I was in remedial english, and she was shocked to say the least. So she went to school to talk to my principal and my teachers to figure out what was going on. They were all baffled and decided I should take the test again. I remember them saying answers these questions the best you can and turn it in when you are done. I do that and passed easily - even propelling me into TAG (Gifted and Talented program). Appartently, I couldn't handle the pressure of standardize testing then (and I still can't now). There were only 4 people in my TAG class, 3 boys and a girl. Myself, B.J. Bailey, Dustin Cassell, and...you guessed it, K.C. Lockridge. Yay for me, huh?

There were 4 Elementary Schools in Harrison, and I think Eagle Heights (the one I went to) was for the lower class section of Harrison, which is why I guess not many in TAG class. I dunno. TAG class was pretty cool. I didn't like making book and folders of research that we did on sports and such (again, I still don't). I don't remember much else from this time, at least, not until 4th grade.

My favorite teacher was in 4th grade, Mrs. Massey. Just loved her. And in case you are wondering, K.C. was there too. I had her in every class my 2nd, 3rd, and 4th grade years. I was happy/anxious at the same time. 4th grade was a time I really remember getting frustrated with myself about how I performed or should peform in class and with myself. I remember this was the first time I cheated on a test. I thought I was sneaky too. I finished taking a test, and I couldn't remember for the life of me the answer to a question. So, when I turned it in, I looked the answer up. Of course! I said to myself. Well, I came up with an idea that I forgot to put my name on my paper, and took my test back so I can put the correct answer on the test. By the way, this wasn't a question that would get me a passing grade, this was a question that would make me get all the answers right.

The second was I was outside playing basketball during our TAG class. And I couldn't make a shot, and I got soo frustrated with myself and when I turned the ball in, I stepped on a game a broke some pieces. I got in trouble for it, and I remember crying because 1. I got in trouble and 2. I couldn't do what I wanted to do. I also got in trouble later for breaking a window. I was sick (I was sick alot up until Jr. High) and couldn't go outside. I was sitting by the window watching people playing when some boys were taunting me for not coming out; making faces and sticking their butt on the window. Well, I got mad and kicked the window and broke it. Yeah, I was in trouble. And one more time, it was the end of the school year and we were playing "I Spy" (I still hate this game), and I couldn't figure it out. Even after I was told what it was, I still didn't get it, and started crying.

I was the same way when I was playing baseball. My dad was a coach and I would constantly throw my bat or glove when I would make a mistake or strike out. I got benched many times because of this. I didn't like messing up (I still don't). Even taking Tae Kwon Do classes didn't help solve my anger problem, though I did well. I never missed a level (until I got to red belt) and was a black belt at age 12. I started when I was 8. I was also in the cub scouts during this time. Though I didn't really care. I don't know why I did it now that I think about it.

Prev | Next