[new][old][me][rings][review][contact][dland][twitter][facebook]

Friday, Dec. 31, 2004 | 10:16 P.M.

End of a Year: Part Deux

I couldn't help myself with the "Part Duex" of my title. Reminded me too much about "Hot Shots: Part Duex". Yeah...anyways.

As you can see, it is just past 10 PM on New Years Eve and I am typing on a computer. What the hell is wrong with this picutre? Well, for one, Erin is not feeling well right now. Happened last night. Partially the alcohol's fault, partially my fault, and partially someone else's fault, but she is not feeling well. Always saying she is hot or cold and always feel sleep. No fever though, so I guess that is good.

Just finished two books that I recieved this Christmas, I guess in record time. I read two James Patterson books, both of the Alex Cross series; "Big Bad Wolf" and "London Bridges". Both very good, and I am glad I read them together, or I should say, right after another. Made more sense that way. But still, I am left with an uneasy feeling wondering where these books are going to go from here, if it all, which I hope they do. Didn't really give me any sense of closure, but who cares, right?

My father-in-law just got a new car. Infinity G35 coupe. Black with black leather interior, six speed manual transmition, 280 hp with 270 ft.lbs., fully loaded with 18" crome wheels, disc brakes, spoiler, powered seats, 6 disc in-dash cd player, dvd navigation system...I could probably go on from here, but I think you get the idea, it's a cool car. Only hitch, for me at least, I cannot drive it. And from the sound of things, EVER. I guess I am spoiled. In my family, I was the one who always drove. After I turned 16, if my family was going somewhere and I was there with them, I drove. I drove trucks and SUV and sedans, and when my parents got their new vehicles, my dad a 2000 Lexus RX 300 and my mom a 2001 Lexus GS 3000, both around 45,000, they didn't bat an eyelid when they asked me to drive. But I do know that Erin's parents are a bit different than mine. Honestly, I don't think her parents trust youngsters. Feel they will get in trouble or mess things up. While my parents...well, they just trust me.

I guess everyone does. Trust me. It's an odd feeling. And everyone likes me as well. Which is really an odd feeling. I don't ever remember meeting a person that did not like me. I don't know why. I don't try either. Maybe that's the point or problem.

Well, I think I have put this off long enough. Time to get down to it. My New Year Resolutions. I never really made any resolutions before, and if I did, I never meant to keep them. But this year, I will try hard to keep them. So there they are.

2005 New Year Resolutions
1) I won't let 'instant gratification' run my life.
2) I will be more organized with my life.
3) I will be more careful about my money.
4) I will be more honest to Erin.
5) I will try to not be soo moody.
6) I will be more conscious of myself and my thoughts.
7) I will start to meditate.
8) I will try to pick up after myself.
9) I will try to articulate my feelings better instead of holding them in.
10) I will be a better husband to Erin.

Well, I believe that is all of my resolutions. I know they will be hard to accomplish, I now have records of them. I have written them down, so I can always come back to them.

I want to say something to everyone out there. I take you for granted. I don't mean to, but I do. I think you all should always be there, but I am not there for you all. Because of that, I want to thank you for being there for me when I wasn't there for you. It takes alot of character to do something for someone who doesn't respect what you've done. My deepest thoughts go to you. I thank you for your kindness.

And as the ball drops and this year of 2004 ends, be sure to hug someone and tell them you are glad they are around. If no one is around you, call someone, email, text message, doesn't matter. It will bring smiles to millions of faces as the new year begins. And I think that is a good way to start a new year.

Happy New Year Everyone!

Prev | Next