[new][old][me][rings][review][contact][dland][twitter][facebook]

Sunday, Nov. 30, 2003 | 2:17 A.M.

Life

Don't you hate it when you have a moment where you believe you can instill some of your wisdom to the world, and you hurry along to find a pen and paper or getting to the internet...that your mind will not shut up long enough to keep that thought strong in your mind. Thoughts stream away like water over rocks - you had it, now it's gone.

Yeah, I just had one of those moments.

I need an actual diary. One where I can put daily nothings down and where, I don't know, when it comes to things that are deep, they feel more real when I write them down than typing them. Maybe they stick to your brain more when you write than type.

Life...what is life anyways? We all want it, we all seek it. From the moment we are born till the day we die, we strive to hang on to life. We all wish it was easier, we all wish we can float through it, but would that make it life. If life was too easy, we wouldn't be living, but if it was too hard, it would not be living. Life is just that - it is the good and the bad, the easy and the hard, the lessons learned and memories lost. Life is all things, and without it, we wouldn't have anything. Life is all around us. Every second, life is happening. Even in death, life occurs. Whether it comes from a dying tree giving life to creatures or fertilizing the soil, or from a person we knew so well passing on, it brings life to others. Life begets life. We see the life lost in someone, so we live on because of them, whether it be from regrets they had or a life cut too short. We learn that life is not forever, but it is short as well. We can take life and we can give it. Life goes on, but do we? Life brings us happiness, joy, sadness, anger, frustration, stress, meaning, purpose, substance, exsistance, together. We learn from life and life learns from us. Life is the Alpha and Omega, night and day, yin and yang, black and white. Life is good and life is bad. We cannot live without life and life cannot live without us. We seek life all the way to the tops of the earth, to the bottoms of the sea, to the skies up in space, to the earth under our feet. We spend billions and billions of dollars finding life, and yet, life is free. Life is as much a paradox as we are trying to live it.

What brought on this philosophical thinking...barnes & noble. Looking at their memebers magazine to see what is on sale this christmas. Saw Dahli Lama books on the Art of Happiness and the Art of Living, saw books on animals giving us spiritual wisdom, thinking about writing in journal all my thoughts in, thinking about what is my dream job, what job am I destined for, what job am I good at, how can I express myself when I am such a visual person. If someone tells me to do something, I will forget, but if I see someone doing something funny, it will not leave my mind. I can sing and dance, and write and speak, but is that the life for me. Can I have a life? Can you really have a life? Or is life just a series of events that somehow, in the end, makes sense.

All in all, I have no idea. I don't try and think that I have an answer or any, for that matter, on life or anything dealing with living. Kinda think it is, I don't know, full-of-shit of someone to think he/she has the answer to a problem. I'm probably just too skeptical.

I should probably go to bed now. Is there really more to life than...well...life?

Prev | Next