[new][old][me][rings][review][contact][dland][twitter][facebook]

Friday, May. 12, 2006 | 1:12 P.M.

This is about work!

I think that for the next few (or many) entries, I am going to talk about my job. Yes, I'm going to complain. Tough it out!

I work as a customer service rep for a bank. So I get to listen to lots of calls and I have to follow lots of rules...and these are the things that irrate me about my job and the people I talk to.

The latest thing today was talking to a mother and father who called in on their sons' account. We are not allowed to give out information to anyone that is not a signer on the account, no matter how close they are related. I am telling the mother and father this, and the father says, "I understand what you are doing and that you are protecting his privacy, but I'm his father, and I just want to know if this charge has cleared." I, under my job and law, cannot tell him this, and he knows this, yet he insists that I give him this info. If you know the answer to something, and yet you ask anyway, what does that make you? If you know I have to follow rules and what you are asking me is breaking that rule, and yet you ask and ask again, what the hell are you thinking?!?!?

Another thing that bothers me; it seems that people don't take responsiblity for their own checking accounts anymore, they rely heavily on the bank or customer service. They do this by asking for their balance. I hope some of you know this, but the balance the banks have is not reliable. Reason is, unless you only spend money every other day, there are charges that have not cleared on your account, and it is the persons responsiblity to keep up with charges. And when the account goes negative, everyone is quick to say they didn't do these charges, to remove fees, that when they called yesterday there was more money; always something.

I'm not saying all people are like this, but just the annoying ones stick in my head the most.

That's all I got right now. I needed to get this out or I was going to throw something at someone soon.

Prev | Next