[new][old][me][rings][review][contact][dland][twitter][facebook]

Saturday, Jan. 17, 2004 | 11:58 P.M.

I hate this....

If you are wondering what I am talking about, I'll tell you. I am currently trying to compose a guest list for my wedding. The hard part is not finding people to invite, but to narrow it down to who we can invite.

See, for our actual wedding, we can invite between 250-300, but for our reception, we are only inviting 150 at the max, so I gotta take this big list and narrow it down to 150. What is making this even harder is I have to deal with family, basically, cutting family members from coming to the reception.

Now, for some of you, this might not be a big deal, but it is a huge deal for me. You see, I may not know these people, but in my mind, if they are family, that's all I need to know. I guess, to boil it down, I don't want to hurt people's feelings about this. I know I know, it is my wedding and I must be tough, but I mean, who do I not invite? How can I make that "ultimate" decision to say yes to one and no to another?

This is a very hard decision for me; so much so that it is giving me a huge head ache. I just don't like doing this. I'm not a person that does this; I like to include as many people as I can - probably for several reasons, one being to show myself that this many want to come to my wedding, and wanting them feel special that I would invite them. Both are pretty selfish...so...uhm...yeah.

I suppose I should talk about something else. I am in Harrison right now on my 1000 mile journey weekend. I haven't seen my parents in a month, and we had time between wedding arrangments, so we came up here. Yesterday, we met with the minister who is going to marry us, and the organist who is going to play at our wedding. Then we made a dash to see our photographer because it was about to rain, and we were scheduled to have our engagement pics done outside. But all went well and we got all the pics. Now, we are going to go down to Maumelle to meet with the photographer to look at the pics that she took, so we can pick the ones we want out and put the one we want on our invitations.

After we do that, we are heading to a wedding expo at the statehouse convention center in LR. I don't know how long we are going to stay there, but we may end up winning prizes, like free rentals, food, or a honeymoon. Sometime during this day, we are eating and meeting up with a friend. Then we are heading back to Dallas, and going to bed. Then the next day, Erin has to work and I have a job interview that afternoon. No rest I guess.

My dad and I stayed up late last night talking - I think for over two hours. Just random stuff really, bust most was about jobs. How to impress people, sell yourself, that kind of thing. He mentioned a couple of occupations that I might be interested in. One was selling cars. I know that sounds alot like what I did before, but I would get a base pay from the job, and they do make the money. You know, something to do for a year or two to build up some nice money stash, then do something else. The other he said was going into broadcasting/radio. He said that I have a radio voice, and with my experience in acting and singing, that I could do it. I've thought about becoming a radio personality on several occasion, but have been put down for that because they don't make much money. At this point, if they make more than 15k a year, I'd be happy.

Basically, all this thought on jobs is going to boil down on what I can find in the Dallas Morning News section tomorrow, b/c tomorrow is their annual Super Job Fair Classifieds. It is suppose to be like 20 pages or more full of jobs opps. The biggest of the year. So, in my mind, my best bet to get a job is this Sunday's paper.

Well, I think I better to get to bed so I can have at least 6 hours of sleep before my long drive tomorrow, which I'm sure Erin will be sleeping during most of it. She's soo considerate...

Prev | Next